Faculty Staff Housing is pleased to announce the expansion of the Qualifying Area. Based on the need to add housing opportunities along the transit corridor, the entire cities of San Jose and Milpitas have been added.

The map below shows the new Qualifying Area outlined in green.

Although the University’s housing programs are meant to create a vibrant community of faculty and students who live close to campus, the need to further the University’s goal of increasing diversity among the faculty needed to be addressed. It was also important to accommodate the option for more affordable areas. To answer this need, further expansion of the Qualifying Area has been approved for University Tenure Line, Non-Tenure Line, University Medical Line faculty, and Senior Fellow members of the Academic Council at Special Policy Centers and Institutes. Also included are Hoover Institution Senior Fellows and eligible University and SLAC staff as defined in the Housing Purchase Programs Eligibility Criteria

The map shows the expanded area highlighted in gray. The cities of Alameda, Albany, Berkeley, Castro Valley, Oakland, Piedmont, and San Lorenzo have been added as well as the entire cities of Hayward, Union City, and Fremont.

QA Map

You can visit the interactive maps for specific addresses. 

The expanded area is not available for Clinician Educators at this time. Further analysis is needed to determine any future change. This analysis is an on-going collaboration with the School of Medicine.